gpt-oss-safeguard-20b
OpenAIReleased Oct 29, 2025Open weights · Apache 2.0gpt-oss-safeguard-20b
- Reasoning
- yes
- Knowledge cutoff
- June 2024
- Context
- 131K tokens
- Max output
- 64k tokens
- Input
- text
- API features
- tools, structured outputs, JSON mode, seed
Read Oct 23, 06:00 UTC from the hosts' published offers and OpenRouter, spec sheet from OpenAI · cutoff: platform.openai.com
Its only host, Groq, does not state its weights precision. Weights and context per host
Open weights under Apache 2.0: you can run gpt-oss-safeguard-20b on your own hardware instead of paying per token.
Memory ≈ parameters × bytes per parameter × 1.2 · cloud price: on-demand rate, running 24/7 · builds: GGUF, AWQ, MLX, GPTQ, Ollama · break-even calculator
| Provider | Input | Output | Cache ↑ | tok/s | First token | Uptime 24h | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Groqprecision not stated · 128K ctx · 64K out | $0.075 | $0.30 | $0.0375 | 588 | 0.16 s | 98.6% | Oct 23 |
1 provider · prices per million tokens, read Oct 23, 06:00 UTC · speed: OpenRouter, median of the last 30 min, read Oct 23, 06:00 UTC · uptime: OpenRouter, last 24 h · under each host: weights precision, context and max output as served, the maker's value in brackets when the host's differs
| Provider | Weights | Context | Max output | Tools | Structured outputs | Reasoning |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Groq | not stated by the host | 128K | 64K | yes | yes | yes |
Weights, context and max output: read at each host's own catalogue or docs where its terms allow, otherwise as the host declares to OpenRouter; hover a cell for its source and date · tools, structured outputs, reasoning: as declared to OpenRouter · not verified by us
gpt-oss-safeguard-20b spec sheet, field by field, with sources
gpt-oss-safeguard-20b spec sheetmaker-declared
What OpenAI declares about the model itself — read from its own weights repository and documentation, not from any host. What each endpoint actually serves is in the pricing above: the two can differ, and both are true.
- Context window
- 131,072 tokens
- Parameters
- 21,511,953,984≈ 21.5B
- Active experts
- 4 of 32 active per token
- Weight precision
- mxfp4
- License
- Apache 2.0 — open weights, permissivecuratedScope: the licence on the published weights, and nothing else. It is not the maker's acceptable-use policy, which is a separate document, and it is not the contract you sign with whichever host you call — hosts set their own terms, which this index does not read.
- Knowledge cutoff
- June 2024maker's docs
- Modalities
- text
- Max output (official)
- to verify
- Release date
- to verify≈ October 29, 2025 third-party catalogue — not the maker's figure
- Maker lifecycle status
- to verify
Also declared in the weights
- Architecture class
- GptOssForCausalLM
- Layers
- 24
- Vocabulary
- 201,088 tokens
- Weights first published
- September 18, 2025
- Weights last updated
- January 14, 2026
- Paper
- arXiv:2508.10925
openai/gpt-oss-safeguard-20b · config.json @ 8a11e17 · read 2026-10-08 · 7 of 10 fields published by the maker
| Provider | Chatbot 1,000 in / 500 out | RAG / long context 8,000 in / 500 out | Batch summarize 4,000 in / 1,000 out |
|---|---|---|---|
| Groq | $0.23 | $0.75 | $0.60 |
What each host bills for 1,000 requests of a representative job
Your own workload
Other OpenAI models · all its models, hosts and history ›
- gpt-oss-120b19 providers · from $0.18
- gpt-oss-20b13 providers · from $0.12
- GPT-5.6 Luna3 providers · from $1.40
- GPT-5.6 Sol3 providers · from $24.00
- GPT-5.6 Terra3 providers · from $14.00
- GPT-4.11 provider · from $10.00